Desolation Sounds

by Ayla Brook & The Sound Men



Ayla Brook (pronounced Ey–Lah) is one of the truest raw songwriters on the prairies. From his beginnings in Lily Plain, Saskatchewan, to successful records recorded with AA Sound System, to now his solo work - Ayla has remained tried and true. His last release, "(I Don't Want To Hear Your) Break Up Songs" was exactly that - a tapestry of hurtin' and feelin' tunes about life on and off the barstools. Joined by his regular 5-piece band, The Sound Men, Ayla can be seen packing the dance floors of honkytonks & rock clubs soaked in wine and whiskey. 2018 saw Ayla Brook & The Sound Men nominated for three Edmonton Music Awards and taking home Roots Artist of the Year, along with a full summer of folk and indie music festivals.

In 2019, Ayla Brook & The Sound Men finished a brand new record entitled "Desolation Sounds" recorded with Hamilton's Terra Lightfoot. The record will be released in spring 2020 with three singles and videos released starting in November 2019.
The new set of material is a collection of songs and stories about friends and family after 2017's record about relationships and breakups. With Lightfoot at the wheel and mixing by Jon Auer (The Posies & Big Star), fans can expect a modern roots record full of rock and soul, and especially western charm that Ayla & the Sound Men help make undeniable.

Winner of Roots Artist of the Year - Edmonton Music Awards 2018
Played Beaumont Blues, Highlandia, Works Festival 2017. Nominated for Three Edmonton Music Awards 2017.

"There’s a humbling sense of community and musical honesty adding to its organic aura. Brook is a wonderful songwriter and an even better vocalist." - Exclaim!



released March 13, 2020

Produced by Terra Lightfoot
Mixed by Jon Auer
Engineered by Emily Bachynski at Edmontone Studios, Edmonton
Additional editing and recording by Johnny Blerot at JBS, Edmonton
Mastered by Greg Calbi with Steve Fallone at Sterling Sound, NJ

Ayla Brook - Vocals, Electric guitar, Resophonic guitar
Brent Oliver - Bass, Vocals
Sean Brewer - Guitar, Vocals
Johnny Blerot - Organ, Piano, Accordion, Keyboard, Vocals
Chris Sturwold - Drums, Percussion
Terra Lightfoot – Vocals
Emily Bachynski – Vocals
Kimberley MacGregor – Vocals, Guitar on "Floated So Far"
Smokey Fennell - Pedal Steel

Side One
Lift You Up 4:22
All That I Wanted To Do 3:44
(I Think I) Hit My Limit 4:02
She Smiles Like A River 3:12
Cheap Microphone & An Old Guitar 3:45
A Little More Light 3:38

Side Two
Floated So Far (with Kimberley MacGregor) 4:04
Love & Laughter 3:51
Little Birdie 4:19
Refuge Cove 4:02
Who Are You 5:35

All songs by Ayla Brook
Floated So Far by Ayla Brook & Kimberley MacGregor
She Smiles Like A River by Leon Russell
Little Birdie (traditional)


all rights reserved



Ayla Brook & The Sound Men Edmonton, Alberta

Desolation Sounds, is the new album by Ayla Brook & The Sound Men. Produced by Terra Lightfoot, its a collection of songs and stories about friends and family, bursting with rock and soul and western charm.
Whether they’re packing dance floors in honky tonks or in rock clubs soaked in wine and whiskey, the band deliver a tapestry of hurtin’ and feelin’ tunes about life on and off the barstools.
... more

contact / help

Contact Ayla Brook & The Sound Men

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Ayla Brook & The Sound Men, you may also like: